top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Repel Insects in Your Kitchen...Even Close to Food

Hi! I have issues in the Summertime with little flying creatures in my kitchen. I live on a ranch in Colorado. We don't always use airconditioning, and the house is open a lot. I really don't like those little fruit flys though, and I've wondered for a long time how to get rid of them. My sister-in-law was with me for a bit this Spring helping me with some Spring cleaning. She asked me if I'd ever tried peppermint oil. I had some I used for headaches, and she showed me how to do it.

This also works with spiders, but I love it best because it can be used around food. It's important to choose an essential oil that is pure. Most you'll find even in health food store have additives, and that's what you are trying to get rid of. The best I've found is Melaleuca's new Pure™ Peppermint Oil.

You'll need a small spray bottle. Fill it with 8-12 ounces of water, and drop in 10-12 drops of peppermint oil. You can go with more if you like. I really don't like those little flying buggers (or any other kind of bugger) so I drop in 24. Call me an extremist. It doesn't matter though because this comes directly from the pepperment leaves. If you spray it about every day to evey other day, you'll take care of the problem without poisoning yourself. It can be used in any room.

If you are really diligent you can drop a few drops directly on a paper towel and wipe it about, but the spray seems sufficient and will save you money on oils.

The Melaleuca brand also beats the prices of other brands by about 40%, that makes me happy too. If you want to know how to find it, let me know how to reach you. I'd love to help.

Enjoy the rest of your Summer...I hope bug free.

[for safe insect repellent outside try this, I can help you find it as well]:


bottom of page