top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

I Don't Need My Next Promotion

I scared my husband yesterday. I told him I didn't need my position with Melaleuca to feel successful. Then I didn't say anything else until he asked me about it [I love doing that...grin]. He thought maybe I was looking at quitting. Nothing could be further from the truth.

There are a lot of things I'm working on right now all the way from an afghan for a wedding present up to my career, but since the afghan is a simple thing, I'll use it as an example. I've been working with yarns since I was a kid. I'm left-handed, so everyone in my family tried to teach me to crochet, but I just couldn't get the mirror-image. For those of you who didn't know, left-handed crocheters crochet in reverse to what right-handers do. The row goes from left to right instead of right to left, and patterns are written by right-handed crocheters (but that usually doesn't make a difference). For a kid, you can see that this might

be really difficult to learn and really frustrating for the adults trying to teach it.

I put it down for awhile, but when I was 18 or 19, I decided I just REALLY wanted to be able to do this, so I found a pattern with a lot of repetition of the same stitch. I put that aside for awhile and started making chain after chain. I probably could have made all the lines for a ship with the chains I made. When they were even enough, I dove into the pattern. It was an applicaide blanket. The applicays were tulips with stems and leaves, but everything was in the same stitch. My mother still has this blanket today, and it's beautiful.

In my mind, I already knew how to work with yarn. It wasn't just a matter of desire; I was so determined that I already knew I could do it even before I knew how.

Someone recently told me, "Happiness doesn't follow success; success follows happiness." We've got the whole thing backwards. We think that if we can make that promotion or advancement, that's when we'll be at peace. We'll be able to get that new car, or retire, or pay off the house, or put kids through college or go on vacation,...whatever is in your heart. However, even if the desire is really necessary and not just a beautiful addition to our lives, if we attach our value, our confidence, our competence to that one thing, we'll probably miss the boat.

So if I never finish this new afghan in time for the wedding, if I never lose the weight, if my kids go haywire, if I never advance in my business again, I'm already successful. I'm already living the dream. I'm going to give a wonderful gift to this new couple starting out in life. My body can do amazing things, and I'm already beautiful. Our kids have to make their own choices. They will mess up in life just like we did, but we put our hearts into raising them, and they possess the truth of who God created them to be. If I never advance in my business, I'm the best I can be right where I am. I'm not less in God's eyes because I'm not where I think I should be...and neither are you.

You are just as special and capable as I am, and if no one ever told you how amazing you are, I'm telling you that right now. You are God's completely amazing creation! As soon as we believe that, we'll do amazing things

bottom of page